How to Identify the Trim of Your Subaru?

Are you having trouble identifying the trim of your Subaru? If so, you’re not alone. Many drivers struggle to figure out the exact model and trim of their vehicle. But don’t worry, we’re here to help. In this comprehensive guide, we’ll go over all the different methods and tools you can use to determine the trim of your Subaru vehicle.

Key Takeaways

  • The trim of your Subaru can impact its performance and maintenance needs.
  • You can determine the trim of your Subaru by checking the VIN number, looking at the model badge, or referring to the owner’s manual.
  • There are many online resources that can help you identify the trim of your Subaru, including forums and VIN decoder tools.

Understanding Subaru Trims

Subaru has a reputation for producing reliable and high-quality vehicles. But with so many different models and trims to choose from, it can be difficult to know which one you have. Each trim has specific features and capabilities that set it apart from others in the lineup.

The most common trims you’ll find on a Subaru include the base model, Premium, Limited, and Touring. Each trim level builds upon the previous one, adding more features and amenities along the way.

For example, the base model usually comes with standard features like a rearview camera and symmetrical all-wheel drive. The Premium trim may add a larger touchscreen display, heated seats, and a moonroof. The Limited trim could include leather upholstery, a power liftgate, and adaptive LED headlights. Finally, the Touring trim may include a premium sound system, driver assistance features, and exclusive exterior styling.

See also  Glanzmann Subaru: A Beacon in the Automotive Industry - Is it For Sale?

Knowing the trim of your Subaru is important because it can impact its maintenance needs and performance capabilities. Additionally, understanding your vehicle’s trim level can help you choose the right replacement parts and accessories when necessary.

Methods to Determine Subaru Trim

Now that you understand the importance of knowing your Subaru’s trim level, let’s look at the different methods you can use to determine it.

Method 1: Check the VIN number

The VIN number, or Vehicle Identification Number, is a unique 17-digit code that’s assigned to every vehicle. It contains a wealth of information about the car, including the year, make, model, and trim.

To find your Subaru’s VIN number, look at the base of the windshield on the driver’s side. You should see a metal plate with the VIN number stamped on it. Once you have the VIN number, you can use a VIN decoder tool to decode it and determine the trim of your Subaru.

Method 2: Look at the model badge

Another way to determine your Subaru’s trim level is to look at the model badge on the rear of the car. The badge should indicate the model name and the trim level.

For example, you may see a badge that says "Subaru Outback Limited" or "Subaru Forester Premium". This can be a quick and easy way to determine the trim of your vehicle.

Method 3: Consult the owner’s manual

The owner’s manual is another resource you can use to determine the trim of your Subaru. It should contain detailed information about the vehicle’s features and specifications, including the trim level.

See also  Is the Subaru CVT Really That Great? Breaking Down the Pros and Cons

The owner’s manual is also a valuable resource for learning more about your vehicle’s maintenance needs and recommended service intervals.

Method 4: Use online resources

Finally, there are many online resources that can help you identify the trim of your Subaru. This includes forums and discussion boards dedicated to Subaru owners, as well as VIN decoder tools that can decode your VIN number online.

When using online resources, be sure to double-check the information and verify its accuracy before making any decisions or purchases.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What’s the difference between Subaru trims?
A: Each trim level includes different features and capabilities, ranging from standard features like all-wheel drive to premium amenities like leather upholstery and advanced safety features.

Q: How can I tell if my Subaru is an all-wheel drive model?
A: All Subaru vehicles come standard with symmetrical all-wheel drive. You can verify this by checking the vehicle’s specifications or consulting the owner’s manual.

Q: Can I add features from a higher trim level to my Subaru?
A: In some cases, it may be possible to add features from a higher trim level to your Subaru. However, this will depend on the specific features and your vehicle’s compatibility. Consult a Subaru dealer or mechanic for more information.


Identifying the trim of your Subaru is an important step in understanding your vehicle’s capabilities and maintenance needs. Whether you use the VIN number, model badge, or owner’s manual, there are many ways to determine the trim level of your Subaru. By knowing your vehicle’s trim, you can make informed decisions about its care and maintenance, and ensure it continues to provide reliable transportation for years to come.

See also  Why Subaru Cars Require Full Synthetic Motor Oil: Everything You Need to Know
Avatar photo

Joseph Weaver

With a background in engineering and a passion for cars, Joseph brings a unique perspective to our blog. He's particularly interested in the technology and innovation behind Subaru's advanced safety features, and his articles on this topic are always insightful and informative. When he's not writing, he enjoys playing video games and spending time with his family.

Recommended Articles