Discover Your Subaru Model: Easy Ways to Find Out What Subaru You Have

If you are a proud Subaru owner but unsure about the exact model you own, don’t worry – you’re not alone. Many Subaru enthusiasts have trouble identifying the exact model of their vehicle, especially if they have bought a used car. The good news is that discovering your Subaru model is not so difficult. In this article, we will show you how to tell what model Subaru you have by checking the VIN, the model code, and other important details.

How to Identify Your Subaru Model

Method 1: Check the VIN (Vehicle Identification Number)

The VIN is a unique 17-digit code that is specific to your Subaru vehicle. You can find the VIN on the driver’s side dashboard or the driver’s side door jamb. Once you have located it, you can enter the VIN on Subaru’s official website or various online tools to find out the model, trim level, and other information about your car.

Method 2: Decode the Model Code

The model code is a three-letter code that identifies the model and transmission of your Subaru. The model code is usually located on the VIN plate or engine compartment area. You can decode the model code by reading the first letter (model series), second letter (body type), and third letter (engine type). For example, if the model code is CBA, it means it is an Impreza WRX STI with a 6-speed manual transmission and a 2.0-liter turbocharged engine.

See also  Say Goodbye to Mouse Infestations in Your Subaru Forester with These Proven Prevention Tips

Here are the model codes and their corresponding models:

Model Code Model
GDA Impreza WRX/STi (2002-2007)
GDB Impreza WRX/STi (2002-2007)
GRB Impreza WRX/STi (2008-2014)
GVB Impreza WRX/STi (2008-2014)
VAB WRX/STi (2014-present)
VAZ WRX STi S209 (2019)
GGA Impreza (2002-2007)
GGB Impreza (2002-2007)
GGG XV/Crosstrek (2013-present)
GG2 XV Hybrid (2013-present)
GGD Impreza/Crosstrek (2008-2012)
GGF Crosstrek (2013-present)
GGG Crosstrek Hybrid (2013-present)
GE Legacy/Outback (2005-2009)
GF Legacy GT (2005-2009)
BL Legacy/Outback (2010-present)
BM Legacy GT/Outback XT (2010-2012)
BN Legacy GT (2013-present)
BP WRX STi S209 (2019)
BRZ BRZ (2013-present)

Method 3: Check the Model Year

The model year can give you a clue about the model of your Subaru, especially if it is an older model. You can find the model year on the VIN plate or driver’s side door jamb. The model year is usually represented by a letter or number. For example, "H" means 2017, "J" means 2018, "K" means 2019, and "L" means 2020.

Method 4: Identify Specific Features

Each Subaru model has unique features that distinguish it from other models. Here are some features to look for when identifying your Subaru model:

  • Legacy/Outback: dual-zone climate control, heated seats, EyeSight Driver Assist Technology, STARLINK infotainment system.
  • Forester: panoramic moonroof, rear-vision camera, X-MODE, EyeSight Driver Assist Technology.
  • Impreza: Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive, available EyeSight Driver Assist Technology, STARLINK infotainment system, heated front seats.
  • WRX/STi: sport-tuned suspension, high-performance Brembo brakes, Recaro front seats, SI-DRIVE performance management system.
  • Crosstrek: standard Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive, X-MODE, 17-inch alloy wheels, STARLINK infotainment system.

Common Questions about Subaru Models

Q: Where can I find the VIN of my Subaru?

A: You can find the VIN of your Subaru on the driver’s side dashboard or the driver’s side door jamb.

See also  How long does it take to get a Subaru? A comprehensive guide to the delivery process

Q: What is the model code of my Subaru?

A: The model code is a three-letter code that identifies the model and transmission of your Subaru. You can find the model code on the VIN plate or engine compartment area.

Q: What is the difference between Legacy and Outback?

A: Legacy is a midsize sedan, while Outback is a midsize crossover SUV. The Outback has higher ground clearance and more rugged styling than the Legacy.

Q: What is EyeSight Driver Assist Technology?

A: EyeSight is a driver-assist technology that uses cameras and sensors to monitor traffic movement, optimize cruise control, and warn you when you’re swaying outside your lane.


Identifying your Subaru model is essential for maintenance, repair, and upgrade purposes. By checking your VIN, model code, model year, and specific features, you can easily find out what model Subaru you have. Don’t hesitate to consult your owner’s manual or visit your nearest Subaru dealership for more information. With this article, we hope you have learned easy ways to find out what Subaru you have.

Avatar photo

Billy Covington

With a passion for all things automotive, Billy is our go-to expert on Subaru performance upgrades and modifications. He's been featured in several car magazines and blogs, and his extensive knowledge and expertise make him a valuable member of our team. When he's not working on cars, he enjoys playing guitar and writing music.

Recommended Articles